The ennui of being jobless is starting to get to me. There are only so many things I can do in the house, and it’s driving me crazy. The battle against dust is never-ending here, and I’ve even been mopping multiple times a week. Some of it is legitimate, but some of it is just boredom. Kind of sad.

On the upside, I have the time and energy to go for awesome bike rides. I did almost 10 miles yesterday, and almost 14 miles today. My goal is to build up to 20 miles by my birthday, and I want to be able to do 50 miles before the end of the year. There is a fantastic trail very close to my house that runs up the entire North-South length of Albuquerque along the Rio Grande, and it makes for an idyllic ride. I usually leave as the Spouse heads off to his bar prep course, and ride for a little over an hour. I think if I ride like that most days I should stay pretty fit and healthy.

On Sunday, I applied for unemployment, and today I applied for my first job as an officially unemployed person. This is significant because I will have to show evidence of active job seeking the entire time I’m receiving benefits, and I file my first report next week. I should know if I’m getting any benefits (and if so, how much) within 2 weeks. I’m hoping for a positive response on this. It’ll make our financial situation much better, and it’ll make me feel less like a worthless piece of crap.

