Now that we have settled in (mostly), I can turn my attention to matters job-related. I will start applying for jobs again this week, in hopes of having something by September. Next week, I will apply for unemployment so that we have a bit of a cushion until one of us finds a job. It feels so strange to have to do that, but I am grateful that I can. So many times I have been out of work or underemployed and unable to apply for benefits. Three cheers for a safety net!

Speaking of being unemployed, my soon-to-be former employer sent me a letter hitting me up for monetary donations to their huge ($500 million, to be precise) fundraising campaign. This bothers me so much. They try to raise ever larger sums of money so that the t-t folks can lead cushy lives, take frequent sabbaticals and leaves, and have low teaching loads. All of these things are enabled by the constant stream of visitors (including yours truly) who take over the teaching duties so that some tenured prof can summer in the Galapagos or do research for a year in Thailand. Are they really so hard-up for cash that they need to shake down some nearly unemployed scholar? Insensitive and tone deaf…

