One week into my low/no-fodmap diet, and I am a believer. I have had to be extra-creative (tapioca flour bread, anyone?), but the payoff has been magnificent. I have absolutely zero symptoms, and I have much more energy. I don’t wake up in the middle of the night running to the bathroom. My mornings are so much more pleasant without a trip to the loo every other hour. Not feeling like I am being stabbed in the gut is also a welcome change.

In another week, I start the challenge phase. I will introduce a few things from each family on a week-by-week basis to identify my exact triggers. There are a few things I suspect will be OK in the long run, but I fear that some of my favorites will be gone forever. If it means not feeling like hell all the time, I think I will get over it.

