Things on the job front are still more or less the same. The final candidate is finished today, which means that they will likely meet to decide later this week. Then, the decision goes up the chain before an offer can be made. This means that I’m likely going to be waiting another week at minimum. C’est la vie. By a stroke of good luck, I found that a local institution (near to Red State University, that is) is hiring two people to do exactly what Spouse did for 9 years. This means that if I got an offer, Spouse would have a good chance of also having a well-paying job that takes advantage of his skill set. I almost can’t fathom what life would be like for us to have good jobs in the same location.

In other news, I took the Foreign Services Officer Exam on Friday afternoon. While I won’t know anything for at least another 3 weeks, I feel pretty good about my performance. Time will tell, of course, but I will remain hopeful. If things went well, I advance to the next stage. The whole process can take a year, so I’m holding out hope that something pans out for us in the meantime.

After contending with a lot of pain and intestinal issues and having a battery of tests (including a colonoscopy…yay), my doctor has confirmed that indeed have IBS. I’ve been put on a highly restrictive diet that is supposed to eliminate my symptoms, but it’s quite difficult. Most of the things I really like are now verboten, so I anticipate losing a lot of weight. This might not be such a bad thing, but on the other hand, it sure would be nice to eat some bread or pasta here and there. To get some perspective on what I’ve been limited to, here’s a handy-dandy chart that separates the good from the bad.

Yeah. This will be interesting.

