I am currently at home making preparations for Sandy’s arrival some time in the next 12 hours. Already the rain has fallen steadily for hours and the winds are picking up. From what I have seen of places east of here, it looks like this is the real deal. Worse yet, it hasn’t quite joined up with the cold front from the west. Could get ugly.

Despite the hazards, my employer didn’t see fit to cancel classes until later this afternoon. I pre-emptively canceled classes yesterday afternoon, because I didn’t want to get stuck at work this afternoon. I find their slow decision making to be somewhat reckless and irresponsible. They seem to forget about the needs of their faculty and staff, and so I took matters into my own hands.

Eh, enough about them. I am keeping warm with Turkish tea from the samovar and enjoying TV and internet for as long as I can.

