I looked through the course scheduling system yesterday and found that I am scheduled to teach 5 days a week for both Spring and Fall. This would make 4 consecutive semesters in which I am teaching 5 days a week. Considering that I’ve been trying to maintain a semblance of scholarly productivity, find a tenure-track job, AND attempt to spend time with a husband living 900 miles away, this is a bit much.

Normally, I’d just suck it up and steam in my own juices for awhile. In light of all the crap flung at me these past few years, I’ve recently been making attempts to be more assertive and speak up for my own interests. This situation certainly seemed to call for Assertive Hap to put on her cape and save the day.

I e-mailed my department chair to ask if there was anything that could be done for at least the Spring semester, given that’s when most interviews take place (assuming I get any). Let me tell you, trying to prep and schedule around an interview when you have (at most) two weeks’ notice on a 5-day, 3/3 load teaching schedule is hellish. There is absolutely no way that I’m going through that again.

No response yet, but mark my words: If they aren’t willing to negotiate with me, I’ll just cancel classes the day before, of, and after my interviews. If they can’t be bothered to care about me, I can’t be bothered to care about them. I ran myself ragged and made myself legitimately sick trying to be everything to everybody. No longer. It seems a bit unrealistic to think that anyone else in this world is going to look out for me, so I have to take that task more seriously than I have.

Now I’m going to listen to some Antony and the Johnsons to chill me out a bit. You should, too!

 

 

 

