My workload combined with job search-related stress has resulted in a nagging respiratory infection that I have been fighting off since early December. It waxes and wanes, and now it’s really come back with a vengeance. This weekend was filled with lovely asthma attacks, shortness of breath, coughing fits, and general malaise. Things weren’t getting any better as the week began, so I’m back on steroids. Um, yay? I’ve also cancelled class today, given that I can barely speak and get tired/out of breath easily. No way would I be able to teach two 80-minute classes in this kind of shape. 

I did manage to do a Skype interview today for a job that I admittedly have mixed feelings about. I’m excited because I can teach classes that are in my wheelhouse, and it’s at an HBCU. Although I am obviously not black, I do feel a sense that teaching at an HBCU would allow me to make a difference in the lives of students who are so often denied opportunities given to more privileged students. However, there are some real issues, not the least of which is the fact that it’s really in the middle of nowhere. While rural life isn’t awful, the Spouse may struggle to find a job if there’s no city of significance for miles. Second is the funding situation at the school. This generally is not a unique problem, but I’ve read some things that imply that the financial situation at this institution is awful. 

We’ll see what the future holds, but for now, I’ll keep my chin up. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to scheme up more ways of indoctrinating my students. 

