I realized in the last few days that it had been over a month since my last post. I think that pretty much says it all.

The spouse and I have managed to see each other three times for a total of 13 days since my last post. We keep thinking this will get easier, and that the airport drop-offs won’t be so traumatic. We are obviously wrong. It has not been easy, and it only seems harder the longer this goes on. If I didn’t know that he was coming up in a mere 18 days, or that we’d have a full 6 weeks together in December and January, I honestly don’t know what we would do. We are glad that the worst of it is almost behind us.

On the job front, things are going well. I have made a lot of great friends, all of whom I will be sad to leave. There are a surprising number of visiting faculty at NJU, particularly given its massive endowment and professed commitment to quality teaching. Sorry, but who can give it 100% when there’s a job search and uncertainty about the future to contend with? Still, I feel pretty comfortable in the classroom, and most of my students have responded very positively to me.

On the scholarly front, things are so-so. I have resigned myself to not collecting any new data this year, but I’ll be trying to work with some of my existing data to squeeze every drop of interestingness out of it. I got a revise and resubmit from a pretty big journal on an article that I cranked out this summer (you know, the one eviscerated by some jackwagon of a reviewer). This is actually good news, because the suggested changes are all things I can get done easily and quickly.

The job search is going ok so far, only in that I have yet to receive a rejection. That’s not to say they won’t come rolling in shortly with the force of a tidal wave, but for now, I hold to the belief that no news is good news. I’m a better candidate and I’m being much more selective by only applying to positions within my exact discipline with my speciality. Here’s hoping that these factors contribute significantly to my job prospects!

And for your viewing pleasure, a picture of the recent October snowstorm that surprised the hell out of all of us here in NJT!

