This song seems appropriate, given the last few days’ events. It’s been an adventure, that’s for sure.

First there was Irene, who dumped a good bit of water on the mid-Atlantic and Northeast. The poor people in Vermont certainly got the brunt of her wrath, but we all saw large amounts of rain that sparked concerns of flooding. Just when things were returning to relative normalcy, Lee swept in from way the hell down in the Gulf to pay us a visit. The icing on the cake was that he also dumped torrential rains on Sleepy Southern Town and flooded things very close to our house there. I was concerned that Spouse wasn’t going to be able to get back home easily after his trip here, but it all worked out.

My morning started off with regular evacuation sirens being sounded beginning at 5 AM. At the time, of course, I had no idea what in the hell these things were, and I freaked out. Where I come from, those are tornado sirens. After trying to sleep through the sirens (not quite possible), I woke up and decided to shower in case our power and/or water got cut. I then took a walk around town, walking over the bridge to watch the Local River swollen to epic proportions (it was easily 10 feet higher than it had been the day before). Flood waters were already beginning to take over the closest street to the river, and I got nervous.

I feel terrible for the people living north of here who were forced to evacuate by late yesterday afternoon in anticipation of the river overtopping the flood walls. There was also the most macabre and heartbreaking story involving a local zoo (warning: read at your own peril).

Classes were cancelled yesterday (only the 3rd time in 20 or so years, I’ve been told), as there was no way for many of us to get to campus. All of my usual routes were flooded over with feet of water, and many students were evacuated from dorms and off-campus housing.  Things are supposed to resume today, although I am a bit skeptical as to the safety of some of the surrounding areas of campus. I’ll bring my boots and hope for the best!

No more natural disasters, please. I have had more than my share for the next decade.

