Since moving to NJT, we’ve had an earthquake, a hurricane, and we’re about to have an epic flood. As of this morning, the river is already 6 feet above flood stage, and we have another 5-6 feet before the river crests this afternoon. Did I mention I live 3 blocks from said river? Perhaps that is relevant information.

In an even more shocking turn of events, the university has cancelled classes. This from the institution that didn’t cancel even once during this year’s Snowmageddon and other disasters. This may only be the 3rd time in 20 years this has been done, so I’m feeling a sense of seriousness about this.

Times like these make me really hate living so far from everyone I know. One of my colleagues was kind enough to call this morning to check on me, and that helped me ease my panic. I honestly have no idea what to do in a flood, but the idea of being inside all day rather freaks me out. Maybe I’ll go walk around and see what it looks like, staying well clear of any flooded areas, of course.

