Nearly two weeks in, and I can say with certainty that I’m surviving. It would be nice to have more time, and perhaps more energy, but things are good. My larger classes are going pretty well, and I’m getting a great amount of participation and engagement from my students. My small seminar class is good, with lots of discussion and serious inquiry.  I think my students know that I want to be different, but that it requires work on their part, too.  They are for the most part really nice, likable people.

Spouse was here for a nice long weekend around Labor Day, and we had a great time. Sadly, weather here in NJT has been pretty terrible, what with Irene and Lee wreaking havoc and dumping rain like crazy.  We managed to find a nice afternoon to go hiking in a beautiful wooded gorge and visit some nice wineries, and went to the nearest city of consequence for a great dinner. Mostly, we focused on spending time together, even if we both had loads of work to do. This morning was sad, and we admitted that this arrangement is altogether unfair and heartwrenching. It’s going to be a long year, but I think we’ll survive. I have two visits planned over the next month, and we’ll have an extended amount of time together in December and January.

I’ve been listening to this song a lot lately to get me through the loneliness and heartache. It seems to help.

