After a few days of procrastination, I’ve finally hit a groove and been insanely productive.  I had a to-do list that was beginning to spiral out of control, but I couldn’t seem to kickstart myself.  Call it apathy, call it depression, but I was spending my days doing my nails, watching TV, and piddling around the house. Just call me Housewife, Ph.D.

Coughing up mouthfuls of green phlegm didn’t help things. My immune system was also lacking motivation, it seems.  I am getting a lot better, but it’s slowgoing.  I have resisted visiting the doctor because the last few times have yielded poor results, and set me back at least $80 each time (between copays, drugs, and things the insurance company decided not to pay).  My magic treatment includes Dayquil, sinus irrigation, and scotch (for the cough).

Now, all I have left is a dissertation to edit, a conference presentation to give and…wait for it…a phone interview to prepare for.  I got a call out of the blue yesterday from a SC chair who wants to talk to me next week.  For a tenure track job.  As an added bonus, we may meet up at the conference this weekend.  Some facetime before the phone interview would be nice, if only to break up some of the awkwardness that comes from talking to complete strangers on the phone.

I should hear about the outcome of my recent interview some time this week or next.  I’m still hopeful, but it’s good to know that I have options.  My dream is to leave for Spain knowing that I’ll be coming home to pack and prepare for a new life in a new place.  Keep those fingers crossed, kids!

 

