For the last few months, I’ve tried to go into campus at least one day a week to get stuff done and have some human interaction.  This week, I decided that I just can’t bring myself to do that anymore.  I’ll go in for meetings or to make copies, but beyond that…nah.  Just not interested.

I’ve also decided that if my dissertation isn’t at least shortlisted for an award from a culinary psychology organization I submitted for, I’m not submitting a paper for its conference in Exotic Farflung Locale (scheduled for this fall).  As much as I’d like to stay in the field, if I don’t have a job, I’m simply not footing the bill for any more conferences after the one I’m attending in April.  I’m already skipping out on one conference next month because even just going for one day (spending the night before, since I wouldn’t make it even leaving at 6 AM) would cost about $1000. All out-of-pocket.  Um, no.  I will, however, be sending my poster w/ a colleague who can afford to go (because she’s a student and gets funding).  Take that, system!

Seriously, how is it that my hair looks this awesome and I don’t have a job yet?

I love getting a haircut, especially when my hair becomes a jungle after 9 weeks of no professional intervention.

