This article has me thinking about how I’ve been treated by some people recently.

Maybe I’m weird, but if you tell me you’re going to do something and do it by a certain time or day, I expect you to 1) DO IT and 2) Do it on time.  Silly me.

Exhibit A:

The aforementioned consulting gig seems to have fizzled out.  She initially promised me a return call/e-mail within a week.  10 days later, I e-mail her.  Nearly 2 days later, she responds, basically revealing that she hasn’t done anything.  I e-mail her back with a question, and that was well over a week ago.  No response.  Nothing.  Look, even if you don’t have answers, it’s courteous to e-mail someone to inform them.  Don’t leave someone hanging, particularly if you want to hire them to do work for you.

Exhibit B:

I had lunch plans w/ three friends this week on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  Tuesday suddenly got sick on Monday (as announced on FB).  She then waited for me to contact her to see if we were still on.  The answer, of course, was no.  Wednesday, same deal.  Look, if you’re sick, that’s too bad, but have the decency to immediately notify people with whom you have plans.  You have a head cold, not Ebola.  You can send a text, e-mail, or FB message in less than 45 seconds with little to no effort on your part.  Anything else is just rude and inconsiderate.  I stand by that.  My Thursday plans had to reschedule, but she did it right: e-mailed politely to ask to reschedule.

Maybe I’m overly sensitive or old-fashioned, but I expect people to have integrity and consideration.  I would never treat people the way some treat others with alarming regularity, yet it seems increasingly common. In the end, all any of us really have is time, and to take that from someone is just insulting.

