My phone conversation went well, but we didn’t decide anything definite.  As is usually the case in the non-profit world, the money may or may not be there to hire someone full-time/permanently.  However, the person I spoke with is super-interested in hiring me as a consultant for now, and then hiring me on for a “real job” when some grant money comes in.  It could be that the funding is already there, but she had to check with the human resources folks before committing to anything.

I am a great fit for the job and the organization, and so I am hopeful that this pans out into something good.  In the meantime, I’m trying to figure out what I should charge hourly for my consulting services. (Or, as PsycGirl would say, “consluting.” Ha!!)  I feel so utterly in the dark about such things.  On one hand, I don’t want to ask for some exorbitant rate that scares them away.  On the other hand, I will not let myself undercharge and be exploited.  I need (and deserve) a decent income, and I know that if hired, they would be getting their money’s worth.  Thoughts?

