Twenty-nine months ago, I created a 101 in 1001 list to propel myself toward a more interesting and enriched life.  Now that the deadline is approaching in a few months (about 4, to be more precise), I am taking stock of where my life is now relative to where it was then.  It amazes me how my priorities are in some ways identical and in other ways completely different to what they were.

In reviewing the list, I feel like some things could still happen, and others will just not happen now.  Perhaps some of these goals no longer interest me, or are not possible given my current state of affairs.  The list now looks like this:

Things I May Still Do By 5/11/2011

  • Get a job I enjoy (God, I hope so.)
  • Go an entire month without eating any commercially prepared food (I’ll be blogging this one, for sure!)
  • Develop the ability to do 100 consecutive push-ups (It could happen…)
  • Develop the ability to do 100 consecutive ab crunches (I could probably do this if I just flopped down to do them…Maybe I’ll try this soon?)
  • Go to significant Alabama landmarks I’ve never visited (It might give us something to do over Spring Break.)
  • Take some sort of class to learn something I’ve never done before (painting, pottery, etc.) (I may do a Sips n’ Strokes class here soon.)
  • Get re-certified in CPR (I’ll aim to do this in March or April.)
  • Go see an opera (I’ve really missed having a steady stream of classical music in my life.)
  • Attend a major league baseball game (It would have to be in April or early May…hmm…I’ll try.)
  • Find an awesome pair of “professional” shoes in both brown and black (Here’s hoping I need these for interviews!)
  • Visit the Unclaimed Baggage store in Scottsboro (An interesting day trip.)
  • Beat all of the levels on MarioKart (I’ve lost my skills, but I could regain them quickly!)
  • Avoid patronizing chain stores for an entire month (A noble pursuit…March or April?)
  • Visit every building on campus at least once (A project for a nice spring day)
  • Have a brunch party (I’m thinking the Sunday before Mardi Gras.)
  • Read 100 Years of Solitude
  • Read Love in the Time of Cholera
  • Eat at Commander’s Palace (I have 2 trips to NOLA in the next 4 months, so this’ll DEFINITELY happen.)
  • Go see a movie at the Capri Theatre (We keep meaning to go to Montgomery.)
  • See a play at the Alabama Shakespeare Festival (ditto)

Things I May Not Do By 5/11/2011 (but maybe later)

Most of these involve things that require a lot of time and money (mostly the latter).  One day…

  • Move to Chicago (or other cool big city)
  • Learn to sew so that I can make my own clothes (and not rely on crappy, mass-produced clothes that were never intended to be worn by people built like me)
  • Finish learning that Chopin ballade I started 4 years ago
  • Eat at Chez Panisse
  • Ride my bike in to work at least once a week for 6 months
  • Take a trip to Austin
  • Take a road trip to the Northeast or Canada (or both!)
  • Watch one new movie every week (By “new,” I mean a movie I’ve never seen before) for a year.
  • Frame all of the artwork I’ve accumulated that hasn’t been framed
  • Go to the podiatrist about my feet
  • Buy only cruelty-free grooming products
  • Learn a different type of yoga
  • Invest in a good quality scootering jacket
  • Finish collecting all of Dave Brubeck’s records
  • Reprint all of my photographs from Egypt and put them in an album
  • Take a picture every day for a year
  • Take and pass a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course.
  • Treat myself to an entire day at a spa

Things I Will Not Do, Ever

I’ve resigned myself to the fact that many of these are just impossible, for various reasons.  A few are things I’m no longer interested in, which is OK.

  • Have family members over to the house for a party (My family got incredibly toxic over the past 2.5 years. I don’t see this happening in the foreseeable future.)
  • Eliminate toxic people from my life (as much as is possible) (It’s not possible!)
  • Go one day a week without using any swear words (No fucking way.)
  • Attend a shape-note hymn singing (Meh, not interested.)
  • Have a sleepover party (Now this seems weird.)
  • Complete an entire sudoku puzzle (I’m an idiot.)
  • Eat at Herbsaint (so not veggie-friendly)

Here’s hoping that the next few months are interesting in all of the right ways!

