Much like the Spanish Inquisition, nobody expects to fall prey to altitude sickness.  A piece of advice, straight from me to you: It’s a bitch.  Yesterday afternoon, I began to feel a bit queasy and weak, which accelerated into overall malaise.  I spent all last night up vomiting and picked at some wheat toast and Sprite this morning.  Luckily, my research talk went well, my time with administrative people was fun and engaging, and I was able to stay energetic throughout the day.  As the day wore on, my body acclimated better to the altitude and I was able to become myself again.  All in all, I have a good feeling about how things went today, and I’m especially proud of myself for persisting in the face of pretty intense sickness.

Note to self: Next time, interview in lower altitudes!

