My to-do list has been whittled down to almost nothing, and this really excites me.  To celebrate, I cleaned the hell out of my house this weekend, did a ton of laundry, and packed for my impending conference trip.  Do I know how to party or what?

My Halloween was mostly uneventful because there were no parties in my circle of friends, and we had precisely zero trick-or-treaters.  I sometimes hate living in the Bible Belt, where parents have been convinced that letting their children go door-to-door in costumes soliciting candy will certainly count them among Satan’s familiars.  Most churches around here do a “Fall Family Festival” (anyone else enjoy the irony of a church putting on an event with the acronym FFF?) that keeps kids off the streets and away from the razor blade-stuffed candies.  The end result is that they continue to brainwash the chirrun with their Jeezus talk, and fools like me buy candy for trick-or-treaters who never come. (For the record, I have nothing against Christ’s followers, only assholes who brainwash their children with fear and guilt under the guise of religion.)  Oh well, I’ll just feed my students some sugar and empty calories. Most of them skip lunch, so it’ll be just the boost their exhausted brains need.

