The first of my job applications are due on the 30th, so I’m knee-deep in getting my materials together.  My latest project has been revamping my teaching philosophy.  This has been WAY harder than I’d anticipated.  My teaching philosophy from last year was decent, but not very thorough considering that I was in the first few weeks of teaching when I wrote it.  A full year of teaching later, I have a lot more to say.

I’ve been working on it for about a month now, and it’s still not where I want it.  It’s close, but I’m not done adding in what I think will be those special touches that impress.  My earlier statement was kind of a rambly narrative on what I think should be done in a classroom and some examples of how I implement these beliefs.  Now, I have somewhat of a hook that organizes my statement.  Today I plan to finish writing my concluding paragraph to bring my hook in for a nice finish.

For those of you in a similar situation, there was a rather timely article in the Chronicle a few days ago about writing a teaching philosophy.  Also, another article that provides an overview of what a teaching philosophy should be and a rubric for evaluating a philosophy.  No one really teaches you how to write these things, and it can be awfully hard to thoroughly describe everything about your beliefs on teaching and learning, classroom techniques, student-teacher interactions, etc. in 1-2 pages.  I’m sure I’ll be glad I did this, but right now I’m kind of sick of the whole thing.

