I’ve managed to be quite productive over the past couple of weeks, and it makes me extraordinarily happy. My to-do list has been whittled down to just two small items: prep my next class (on the 13th) and submit my next article.  Today I managed to finish polishing and editing it, and I’ll give it at least another run-through before sending it in.  All of my proposal reviews were finished Saturday morning, my class on Monday went quite well, and I’ve really settled into my job search groove.

By the end of next week, I’ll be ready to send out my first few dossiers.  The Spouse and I have been hitting the materials hot and heavy to get them really sharp and polished, and I must say that it’s made a difference.  I want every single line to shout, “You are a complete fool if you don’t hire me!”  There was an interesting article in the Chronicle today on writing a teaching statement, which has been the most difficult part of the process.  I feel like I’m a pretty decent teacher, but trying to describe my entire approach in a thorough (yet concise) way is hard.  I’m worried that it’ll come across as too canned, but at the same time, I feel like an insincere schmuck for using anything that even smells like an education buzzword.  Hopefully, I can work through all of these issues in the next week and create amazing documents that will impress a few search committees.

By the way, I’ve changed the physical look of the site.  I’ll do more in the next few days, but I felt like shaking things up a bit.

