A great post from Dr. Crazy on the casualization of academic labor .  For those of you not in academia, this has become a super-hot issue, and there don’t seem to be any easy answers.  There was an interesting piece in the New York Times recently about this phenomenon, too.  Check it out here.  Caveat:  While this “solution” might help alleviate some gridlock, it will by no means solve all or even most of our issues.  Even if Old Dr. Fartzalot hasn’t published anything since the Reagan administration, it makes me sad that we are dismissing the contributions of senior colleagues in the service of making room for us n00bs.

I’m doing my best to get past the bitterness I’ve been feeling about my lot in life as a rent-a-prof.  My title and my paycheck are in no way reflections of my value as a person or as a scholar.  I’m as qualified as some of those who were fortunate enough to land tenure-track positions. Perhaps more qualified, in some cases.  I am a perfectly nice person who has a lot to offer, and I will take my  one class (and my closet office) and make the absolute best of it.

Lately I’ve been writing a lot, sending manuscripts out, and preparing my job search materials for Job SearchTwo: The Quest for Academic Gold.  I’ve been blessed with generous and detail-oriented friends who have been critiquing my materials and offering up great suggestions for improvement.  Last year, I felt too insecure to let other people look at my teaching philosophy, etc., but this time around, I’m taking what I can get.  My first applications will go out in the next couple of weeks, and I feel so much more prepared this time around.

