Graduation was fantastic, if a bit overwhelming at times.  As with anything involving family, particularly a fractured one, there are many factors to take into account.  The poor spouse was the go-between, and he pulled it off with finesse, despite being worried about who would misinterpret his actions and raise hell later.  There was quite a turn out: both parents, the sibling, an aunt and uncle, maternal grandparents, and a great-aunt and -uncle.  I’m really lucky to have so many people who are so supportive of me.

When my chair hooded me, he kind of knocked off my tam, and the entire coliseum erupted into giggles.  Luckily all of the pictures turned out great, and there was a huge grin on my face the whole time I walked across the stage.  The president of the university said, “He almost destroyed you!” as he shook my hand.  It was one of the funniest things to ever happen to me!

Even though I’ve technically been done for nearly 4 months, I feel a strange sense of relief, as if I can finally move on with my life.  The job situation is, obviously, unresolved, but I’m ok with it.  I know that no matter what, I will have something to do next year.  I will keep doing what I’m doing, and one day, things will work out.

Yesterday, I found out that I won a big award from my division of a large national academic organization based on my presentation that I gave at Huge National Conference.  I was beyond thrilled when the guy called me to personally deliver the news.  It’s nice to know that other people think I do good work, and an award like that definitely looks good on a vita.  There is some money attached to the award to help pay for my trip to next year’s Huge National Conference to accept the award in person.  Things are most definitely looking up!

