The other day, I got an e-mail from a guy at the Chronicle of Higher Education who asked me for copies of my papers for the upcoming Huge National Conference in advance so that he could do a write-up of them.  Uh, you betcha! I couldn’t help but smirk when I thought that maybe, just maybe, someone who rejected my application would say, “Oh, wow, I remember her.  I regret not giving her the time of day. Sigh…” Perhaps it’s just wishful thinking on my part, but some press certainly couldn’t hurt me now, right?

I pulled a 10-hour day yesterday to finish up my second conference paper.  After running it by my second author, I’m going to send it to the Chronicle guy and then upload it to the system so that my discussant will have time to take a crack at it.  Once that’s done, I can get my PowerPoints ready to go and rehearse the hell out of my presentations.

