While this week’s news was devastating, I didn’t let it get me down.  On Friday, I applied for two more jobs and followed up with all of my outstanding applications, in hopes that something will pan out.  My advisor has made it clear that if I remain here, I will have something to do.  He’s awesome like that.  I also submitted a conference proposal to the conference in my sub-field (I need to have some sort of pseudonym for my field, much like PsycGirl), in hopes that it gets accepted.  Regardless of my employment situation, I plan to attend and make the most of it.

Today, I presented at a conference that my university puts on for graduate students across all disciplines to help us interact more and to practice our conference presentations.  I took first place in my division!  It was such a huge surprise, and I now have a cute little trophy on my mantel and a check in the mail with my name on it.  I’m not sure of the amount, but it will be nice to have that when I attend Huge National Conference late next month.  Oddly, I won by presenting a slightly modified version of my job talk.  It was somewhat bittersweet, but I was so thrilled to win, nonetheless.

“What do you first do when you learn to swim? You make mistakes, do you not? And what happens? You make other mistakes, and when you have made all the mistakes you possibly can without drowning – and some of them many times over – what do you find? That you can swim? Well – life is just the same as learning to swim! Do not be afraid of making mistakes, for there is no other way of learning how to live!”-Alfred Adler

