I think that the time has come for me to completely detach myself emotionally from this job search.  Most of the emotions I’ve felt lately have been (in my estimation) really unhealthy and counterproductive.  Mostly a weird mashup of anger, bitterness, and disillusionment, none of which are very becoming of me.  I find myself slipping into the “Well, how did so-and-so get a job? He/she doesn’t even have __________” mentality, and I find myself snarking on people whom I otherwise like and respect.  This horrifies me, and it stops now.

If I get a job this year, great!  I’ll be so thrilled.  If I don’t get a job this year, there will be other years.  I should see it as an opportunity to pursue other projects and improve my vita for next year’s job search.  I’ll have a better idea of what I should do, how to market myself, and what I really want out of life.

My ability or lack thereof to get a job is no reflection at all of my value as a person.

I will repeat this over and over until I believe it.

