Tomorrow is the day. THE day. I feel like the past 4 1/2 years have flown by. In August 2005 I entered my program, wet behind the ears and somewhat aimless. It took a little fumbling around and a lot of hard work, but now here I am, ready to defend my dissertation and ready to move on to whatever is in store for me.

I’m definitely nervous about presenting my research and defending my ideas to a panel of experts. I really fear receiving a question that I just can’t answer. On the other hand, as my advisor pointed out, I know more about this stuff than anyone else in the room. If I can’t exude confidence and enthusiasm now, when can I?

In other good news, I just found out that the article I had accepted for publication (co-authored) is going to be published in the April issue of the journal. Any boost of confidence I can get before tomorrow is certainly a good thing.

