First, R.I.P., Patrick Swayze. Pancreatic cancer is an ugly, ugly thing.

Second, this weekend ended up being insanely productive. I finished my teaching and research statements, so with that, I’m ready to start applying for jobs. I have a pretty good collection of institutions from all over the country, and while some are long shots, I’d say most are within reach. The next few months will be a waiting game, and I hope that I don’t lose my mind in the process!

I’ve started in on my Chapter 4, and so far, so good. In a lot of ways, this chapter writes itself because you’re reporting results. The interpretation and implications get held off until the next chapter, so while it’s important to write well, the information itself is already there. I have about two pages written and an outline for the rest of the chapter, so I’m hoping to knock that out within the next week or two and then proceed with the final chapter to turn that in by October 16 (or so).

In the meantime, I have a number of classes to teach, two tests to give, a bunch of grading, and in my spare time, sleeping, eating, and running! The marathon training is going well, and it’s been exciting to build miles. This weekend my long run will be 9 miles, and the following, 11. Eleven miles. My training partner and I made an agreement that we would treat ourselves at various milestones (10, 15, and 20 miles) by getting massages or pedicures. By the end of the semester, I will have basically finished my long run training (longest run=23 miles) and taper off during Winter Break to run the marathon on January 10. Crazy.

Speaking of Winter Break, the spouse and I are planning a trip to Thailand and Cambodia for 18 days in December. We figure it may be our last opportunity to take an extended vacation like this, since we don’t know what kind of jobs we’ll have next year (or if we’ll have jobs), and since he’s not 100% committed to another academic job, he may not get the kind of long breaks to which he’s been accustomed. Also, if one of us is unable to find employment, we won’t have the money to blow on such an expensive vacation. I’m really excited about seeing Bangkok, Chiang Mai, the hills of northern Thailand, and most of all, Angkor Wat and Siem Reap in Cambodia. This should be an amazing trip!

