This morning, I finished (for now) revising my first three chapters. Tonight or tomorrow, I begin writing the 4th chapter. Pretty exciting stuff! I’ve agreed to have a 1st draft of all 5 chapters by the middle of next month. At first, I wanted to kick myself for agreeing to do that, but as I thought it over, I realized that it’s ambitious but completely reasonable. It will be exciting to reach that milestone, even if I still have a good ways to go before being done (3 or 4 rounds of revisions, the defense, and then corrections). The plan is now to have the writing totally finished by the time I leave for Thailand, give it to my committee at the beginning of January, and defend at the end of January/early February. Not bad!

Teaching is going really well, too. I thought three days a week would be hard, but it really hasn’t created problems for me yet. I’m trying to stay on top of the material and have my PowerPoints and activities ready to go a week ahead, and so far this strategy has paid off. One issue is that I’m basically teaching the same material in all of my classes, but my Wednesday/Friday class is a week ahead of my Thursday class, and the way I teach the material is very different between them, too. I’m finding I like my Thursday class because the students seem a bit more responsible, and I also have to cover an entire chapter in a 75 minute lecture, so I feel like things flow better. In contrast, my W/F kids seem very…young. Not very motivated, somewhat irresponsible, and less interested in the material. On Friday I asked my class of roughly 30 people to raise their hands if they had actually done the reading. 5 people raised their hands. It will be an uphill battle, for sure.

After being settled into the new house for nearly 2 weeks now, I’m really seeing how much the house sale drama was affecting me and the spouse. Those kinds of situations really take a lot of emotional, mental, and physical energy out of you, and I really don’t see how I accomplished anything over the past 2 months. It’s refreshing to have all of my attention focused back where it belongs, and even more refreshing to not live out of boxes.

To reward myself, I’m going to brunch this afternoon, visiting a motorcycle museum, and then treating myself to a 7 mile run. Tomorrow, it’s back to the grind, even if it is a so-called holiday.

