Holy crap have I been busy! There’s been a lot going on, but frankly, I’ve been too brain-dead to string together a coherent post.

I taught my first class today, huzzah! Things went well, and I managed to come across as reasonably intelligent and trustworthy. Always good. At the 11th hour, I found out that I’m also going to be teaching another class two days a week to help accommodate some bureaucratic weirdness, and get paid extra, to boot. Apparently, my department is stretched pretty thin and they need all the help they can get. I am, of course, more than happy to help, especially if it means extra money and more experience in time for the job hunt.

Speaking of which, things seem to be looking up in that area. I’ve seen more postings come rolling in from some pretty amazing schools, most of which will likely have no interest in hiring me. Still, I’ll apply and let them be the ones to tell me that I don’t have what it takes. I’ve managed to craft an excellent CV, draft a decent cover letter, line up references, and all I have left is to compile teaching and research statements that are supposed to be separate from the cover letter. I should be able to start applying for jobs next week, or the next.

Things with the sale of our house seem to finally be moving forward, so we’ll be moving this weekend and early next week. That should make for some stressful times! I will really need to adopt the ethic of “make hay while the sun shines” if I want to have a prayer of staying afloat, much less ahead. A few days of laziness may well cost me weeks of headache and disorder. My goal for the semester is to always stay 2 weeks ahead, but knowing me, even if I prepare ahead, I’ll still be putting final tweaks on it up until the bitter end.

I’ve also done a ton of revisions on my proposal to make it a more coherent part of a five chapter dissertation and to polish up the writing in general. I’ve totally finished Chapter 1 and have very little left on both Chapters 1 and 3. I have a good feeling that I should be done by the end of next week so that I can begin the month of September with a solid foundation for the rest of my diss. My chair and I decided to postpone any plans for defending it until early spring, which means that I will have plenty of time to devote to writing and editing before the big day. It will be nice to be able to take my time, for once, and I hope that it shows up in the quality of my writing.

Sometimes I think about where I am and how far I’ve come, and my mind is completely blown.

