A little bird told me that my last post seemed like one big pity party. I apologize. I’ve been pretty down about things in general right now, and it’s hard to summon my usual ebuillence. After a long conversation with the spouse and another one with my advisor, I feel cautiously optimistic. It’s actually a really exciting stage of my life, and I should be enjoying it far more than I have.

I’ve been tracking my measurements over the course of the summer, and I’m happy…no, overjoyed to announce that I’ve lost a whole 2.5 inches off my waist and 1.25 inches from my hips. I haven’t weighed myself in a good while, but I can only assume that I’ve lost some weight. I may drop by the gym today to do some weight training and I’ll hop on the scale then. I try not to use weight as a barometer of my overall health or fitness progress, but in conjunction with other measures, it will tell me more about how well I’ve been doing to be healthy and slimmer. My energy levels have certainly increased, and I’ve found that my running pace has increased dramatically (from about an 11 min mile to about a 9 or 9.5 minute mile). Now that the summer is over, I’m going to start building mileage to my long runs, starting next weekend. By the end of next month, I’ll be up to around 10 miles per run. By Halloween, I’ll have 15, and by the end of the year, I’ll be up to 26 miles!

These next few weeks will be frantic, what with the beginning of the semester, the job search, and of course, the dissertation. My life is about to become one huge transition, but I welcome the challenge enthusiastically.

