IMG_0380

Still no word on when and if the deal is going to sealed, but that didn’t stop us from doing a lot of packing and cleaning today in preparation for a move that will (most likely) begin a week from today. It’s kind of bizarre to think that in a little over a week, I will probably never be in this house again. I know that it’s just a thing and that we should never become too attached to things, but this house is a symbol of how my life has changed over the past 4 and a half years.

The first time I entered this house, it was with the spouse after our 2nd date. I was 22, pursuing a master’s that I wasn’t entirely sure of, working a job that I hated, and feeling entirely conflicted about my life. Little did I know that I would move in for good a mere 6 months later. Then I was 23, still in a state of flux, but this time I was embarking on my journey toward a Ph.D., and I felt like good things were on my horizon. As my relationship with the spouse (then just my boyfriend) evolved, so did my relationship with the house. I gradually became more invested in the house, and took on a few projects to improve its appearance and make it my own. Simultaneously, I was discovering myself as a person and establishing myself as a budding scholar, and I’d like to think that the house helped to anchor me.

Two years later, we got married, and got serious about remodeling and redecorating to make it something we could have together. Some people have kids immediately after marriage. We painted and installed quarter round, instead (arguably the better choice, at least for us). Over the next two years, we shared many fond days together in the house lazing around, cooking, entertaining, and completing other projects. While we definitely had an active life as a couple going to concerts, traveling, and socializing around town, our relationship was really built upon our times at home together.

Now we’re packing up all of our things and preparing to move to another house, where we will share more days together. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t sad about leaving this house, because I’ve grown into my own as a person, a scholar, a wife, and I’ve never been happier in all of my life than in the time I’ve spent here. Even though the house existed long before either of us were born, I feel like it’s something we built together. We’ve spent countless hours, considerable money, and tireless effort to make our house into a thing of pride and beauty. In the process, we’ve learned a lot about home improvement and about each other.  But, in the end, what we’ve really built together isn’t something made of wood, glass, and metal, but the connection we have to each other, and that goes with us wherever we go. I see this merely as another chapter in what I hope is a long time together, and I look forward to the many adventures and transitions ahead of us.

