I suppose it’s a good sign that I haven’t been blogging much lately. There’s been a lot going on, and I’ve been super-productive over the past few weeks. A few highlights:

  • Submitted 2 paper proposals for a huge national conference next year. I’ve also been added to a 3rd proposal as 2nd author, which is kind of cool.
  • I’ve been collaborating with a friend of mine on another article that is actually going to a real journal. It would be nice to get that in before the end of the month. We’ll see.
  • Started working on the framework of a study that is somewhat related to one of my conference proposals.  By this time next week, I hope to have the IRB stuff written up (and y’all know how much I love those darlings) and the measures up on SurveyMonkey. If I could collect the data this semester, I could have a write-up done in time to have “(in press)” next to the article title on my CV when I start interviewing.

The next few weeks will be crazy. (Why do I always feel like I’m typing that?) We still haven’t entirely nailed down the rest of our house sale process, for various and sundry reasons that I don’t care to detail at the moment, so it’s kind of up in the air when we’re going to move exactly. We have a place to live lined up, but depending on what happens over the next few days, we may have to adjust a few things. Accordingly, we haven’t started packing until we know what the deal is. Kind of frustrating, considering I like to pack for an overnight trip a week in advance! (Ok, I exaggerate, but not by much.)

I also have semester prep to do for the class I’m teaching, and then there’s that whole “finish my dissertation” thing that will certainly come to fruition over the next month or so. I’d love (LOVE) to have a draft of both chapters completed by Labor Day, but for now I’m playing it by ear. My ultimate goal is to have the thing defended by Christmas break, which means I need to have a final draft ready by at least the beginning of November. That coupled with teaching a class, applying for jobs, and my lab hours should keep me plenty busy.  It will be nice to go on the job market with a defended diss, and a Ph.D. in hand whenever (and if) I start a job. I’ve seen too many people get into really unpleasant situations when they start a job in the midst of dissertations, and I’d prefer not to follow in their footsteps.

