Calexico

I passed my proposal defense!

For the most part, it went well. There were some questions that I wasn’t quite sure how to answer at first, but I think everyone had their questions answered sufficiently. I hope so, at least, because they approved me to keep going.

The next few weeks will be kind of chill because my advisor needs time to do other things and I need some time to decompress. This month has been pretty hard on me, and I need to rest and get my life back together in a substantial way. If I can get the bastards at my doctor’s office to call me back (3 calls in 10 days and still no response), I will be having surgery in the next couple of weeks to fix the OHW, which will take up some of my time off. The Job from Hell is pretty much over, save for a few small things and a meeting monday morning. It’s no secret that I’ll be so glad to be rid of all that crap once and for all. I found out yesterday that I’ll be teaching the class I really wanted next year, so that’s put me in a much happier state of mind. I don’t mind working hard and dealing with frustrations, but when I know that what I’m doing will really enhance my vita and marketability, I’m less inclined to be pissed about it.

I’m getting really psyched up for my conference trip this summer. My presentation should be interesting, and it will be beyond awesome to present with two other people whom I admire. I also will get to see people from my conference last month, which will be kind of cool. It’s fun to meet people in your field and realize that they’re the people you’ll be seeing for the next 20 or 30 years of your career, or to meet the people you’ve been citing like crazy. They are, believe it or not, real people, and usually pretty interesting people at that. It’s also no secret that being Europe for a week in the summer is going to be freaking awesome. Now to figure out what I’m going to do between the 5th and the 8th of July…hmmm…

