One year ago today, I started this little blog (then named “Always High, and Sometimes Deep”…that never rolled off the tongue, so I switched it to its current moniker, which I like quite a lot). I felt that chronicling my experience in graduate school might be at times helpful, and maybe even occasionally funny. Some days I feel like, to quote Juno, the cautionary whale. But it’s been helpful for me so far, and I hope that at least one other person has gained something from my writing.

“So, Freckles, whatcha doin’ to celebrate? Going out to dinner? Opening a bottle of fine pinot noir?”

Mmmm…try lying in bed with a 103 fever wearing a hoodie sweatshirt, pj pants, socks, two down comforters, a thermal blanket, and a sheet with the heat jacked up. I don’t know what in the everlasting hell has attacked me, but damn it puts up a good fight. Unfortunately, it’s currently winning. I had fever, chills, aches, and gut-wrenching sinus pain for much of today, and accomplished jack shit. I was moaning in pain for most of this evening, and I’m just now feeling like I can move.

So, let’s raise a glass of seltzer water to many more years of blogging and fewer illnesses. Cheers, y’all.

