No, I’m not talking about the weather here, although last week’s rains were nothing short of insane. I really wondered if it was ever going to stop raining. The river (that runs not half a mile from my house) was over 10 ft above flood stage, and most grassy areas were nothing but muck and water. My rain boots definitely got some good use last week!

Anycrap, it seems as if each day brings something else that I’m going to have to complete by x date, and it’s really starting to freak me out. I’m doing my best to impose structure and order in my life so that I don’t fall off the wagon. The first order of business was to schedule times during the week where I will do nothing but write. The idea is for me to put in somewhere in the neighborhood of 15-20 hours per week reading and writing, which I think should be plenty of time to accomplish all of what I need to do by the respective deadlines.

I’ve also scheduled 5 workouts a week, in order to keep myself on track to better health and fitness. I’ve gone to the gym 3 days in a row now, and 4 days in the past week. I plan on taking tomorrow off and then going Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. My schedule from now on will likely be Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, with one of those days being optional if my week is busy. It might be a good idea to bring in some articles to read while I’m on the elliptical in order to knock out two objectives simultaneously. Yesterday I did 50 minutes at an 11 minute mile pace, and today I took it a little easier (35 minutes at a 13 minute pace) so that I could do more strength training. If I keep this up, I should see some results in a few weeks, and by the time summer rolls around, I should look pretty damn good.

My conference proposal is about half-written, and I have a good outline for my diss proposal. This weekend I will definitely be putting in some serious hours so that I can complete the conference proposal and have at least 5 pages written on my diss proposal. I’d love to have 10 pages written by this time next week, but we’ll see how this weekend pans out. By the end of the month, I’d ideally like to have 25 pages written, putting me well over halfway through. My overview chapter shouldn’t be hard to write (10-15 pages, max) because most of it will come from my prospectus. The methodology chapter also should come fairly easily since all I’ll really need to do is expand on my methods section of my prospectus, yielding about 10-15 pages. The tough part will be the literature review, since I have to include not only what I’ve already been reading, but also new literature based on the suggestions of my committee. I’m guessing this section could be anywhere from 25-40 pages, hopefully closer to the low end of that range.

On the bright side, once I get this done, my dissertation is half written!

