img_1022

Due to the OHW, my fitness ambitions got derailed in a big way. Now that it’s no longer causing me immense pain and suffering, I feel like I can get back on track. Before the holiday break (and the subsequent Plague ’09), I was going to the gym a few times a week, and was beginning to feel pretty good. My appetite was healthy, I had energy, I was able to focus, and I slept like a baby (sans the poopy diaper). Once I get better, I want to hop back on the wagon.

My plans are as follows:

  • 45-60 minutes on the elliptical at least 3x/week (probably Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and/or Friday)
  • Following the One Hundred Pushups program
  • Following the Two Hundred Sit-Ups program
  • Yoga once a week, whether in a class or just at home

I figure with this, I will burn a substantial amount of calories and also build up my strength and muscle mass, which will help with my overall metabolism and appearance. Needless to say, there will also be some dietary alterations involved, but I’m not taking any extreme or sudden measures. This year, I’d really like to lose about 10 lbs or get my body fat percentage down to around 20%, whichever makes the most sense for me. To be honest, this is less about vanity (although that certainly plays a role) and more about what carrying around a few extra pounds does to my health. Right now, it’s not a big deal. I’m well within the normal range for my age, gender, and height, but down the road these few extra pounds will multiply and could cause serious problems. Diabetes and heart disease run rampant through my family, and being overweight will only compound my chances.

Hopefully being fit will also translate into more energy and focus in my academic life. This year is really the year I need to kickstart my career, and some extra productivity could really come in handy!

