FEMA trailer

My prospectus defense is officially scheduled for next Wednesday (the 10th) at 2 PM. I generally feel pretty awake in the early-mid afternoon, and Wednesdays are usually good days for me, so I’m hoping that it will be an auspicious time. The room is reserved and everything, so no going back! I’ll be working like a dog to get my presentation together, and I’m meeting my adviser on Monday to talk things over to make sure I’m completely prepared. It’s strange, but I’m nervous in a way that I haven’t been since leaving the music world nearly 4 years ago. In the days leading up to a performance, I would be incredibly nervous, but in the impending moments just before I went on stage, I was always strangely calm and in control. If I can just make it through this week, things will be good for me.

In the meantime, I also have a take-home essay final exam to complete by Monday at 5:00. There are 9 essays in all, so I can probably knock it out in a few hours, but thus far I’ve resisted getting started. I know I can do it, so there’s no excitement for me. I won’t procrastinate a ridiculous amount of time (as in the past), but no way will I get started any earlier than tomorrow.

This will be my last busy academic weekend for at least a month, so I can deal. I’ll get my work done, I’ll do my best, and all will be right with my world.

