(The Goodyear blimp was flying over the university last week!)

This week, I have to bring my A game every single day, because I’m working on recruiting what will hopefully equal a sample of 400-500 people. It’s like being a politician, except I literally have to go to every class and talk to them directly (because there are no tossup classes). I had to talk to five classes today (in addition to going to work, going to class, and meeting with one of my groups for a project). Tomorrow I talk to a class at 8, 11, and 6:30, go to work, and go out to the school (after a week off). In all, I will have in some shape or form talked to something like 10 classes, and then I’ll have a few more to talk to next week as well. It’s a pain, but if this is what it takes to get my sample, I will do it. It’s so hard to comprehend that all the work and thinking I’ve been doing over the past couple of months will be coming to fruition starting next week. Very exciting.

Also exciting was finding out that I actually did a very good job on my comps. I knew I’d worked hard and given it my very best, but I wasn’t sure how to interpret my scores, which led me to fear that maybe I wasn’t cut out for this. Did I really know this wasn’t true? Of course. This didn’t stop my insecurity from popping in for a little visit. Now that I know that my best was indeed good enough, I feel like I can truly move on to the bigger and better things.

I feel so bad that I’ve been neglecting my workouts lately. I did some yoga yesterday and I’ve been for two long dog walks over the past two days, but compared to what I used to do (running, elliptical, weight lifting, swimming), I’m pretty pathetic these days. I’m thinking once my data collection is over and I’m not taking a class that I can perhaps devote more time to workouts. For now I’ll stick to walking the dog and a little 20 minute yoga in my office. My appetite has slightly declined, so I’m pretty much in a state of equilibrium.

