I really wonder how long it’s going to be before I end up curled up in the corner, assuming the fetal position, sucking my thumb, and mumbling incoherently. I’m not a betting sort of gal, but my money is on three days. Shall I start a pool?

My to-do list is just unmanageably long. The mentoring gig is really wearing on my patience. Communication, not surprisingly, is one of the biggest contributors to my current woes. In the end, other people’s failure to communicate ends up falling on my shoulders, and I’ve really had it. Currently, I’m trying to figure out the best approach by which I can tell my boss, “Sorry, but I feel like I was grossly mislead, this job takes up too much of my time, and I’m quitting at the end of the semester.” My dissertation always comes first, and it’s become difficult, and at times impossible to get work done because I’m spending hours on pointless, rambling meetings (3 hours Monday morning); a barrage of e-mails; managing 50 college students and 42 elementary students; writing lesson plans; organizing materials…on top of all of this, I’ve had a few instances just this week where my work and judgment were all blatantly disregarded by the people in charge, and it created a shitstorm (or five) that had to be cleaned up by….yep, you guessed it….me!

I’m just so very, very done. My job description was but a fraction of my reality, and right now, reality bites. Hard.

