The last week has been a frantic haze. I just want to go to bed and sleep for days and days. I’ve probably gotten a grand total of 12 hours of sleep in the past week (due in no small part to some recently acquired insomnia) and I sure do look like it. It’s enough to make a sister want to hit some Xanax.

A recap:

My friends were here Saturday morning-Tuesday morning. A good time was had by all, including my rascally dog. He’s a good host! Everybody’s houses were spared by Gustav, but two of them still lack electricity, so they’re staying elsewhere until things are fixed. It could have been so much worse, and I’m glad it wasn’t!

This week at work was absolute pandemonium. On Tuesday and Wednesday I just wanted to go home and curl into the fetal position in a dark room under a blanket. There are a lot of things that need to be worked out, and communication on all sides needs to improve drastically. I’m also quite unhappy about the fact that my so-called 10 hour a week assistantship is actually requiring closer to 20 hours a week. That coupled with my other assistantship, a class, dissertation stuff, and life is just a wee bit overwhelming. Things have to improve, right? Right??!

As far as the dissertation stuff goes, I may be hitting the fast track. The goal for now is to have my prospectus written by the beginning of October (yes, a month from now), which means I need to get on the committee-forming thing now. With that timeline, I collect data in October and November, start writing in January, analyze this summer, and could potentially finish as early as September. I’m thinking more likely that I could aim to be finished in December. I could be job hunting as early as this coming spring. That just blows my mind! It also means that our plans for moving have bumped up by about 9-12 months, which could be stressful. However, I’ll be glad to get out with papers in hand and a job on the horizon.

Otherwise, life is OK. There’s a lot of good music coming around these parts, which is kind of exciting. Alabama isn’t really a destination for a lot of good acts, so for multiple acts to come around is unprecedented. Last night was Aimee Mann, and I must say, I really had forgotten that I liked her. She puts on a good show, and her songs are awesome! A band called The Submarines opened for her, and I couldn’t believe how good they were. I remarked to one of my friends that they sounded like Ingrid Michaelson and The Postal Service had a kid. The lead singer was an adorable blonde with pigtails who said that the fog machine made the stage smell like pancakes and that she loved the way Southern girls were always so done up. This weekend is Cowboy Mouth, a few weeks from now is Fleet Foxes and The Avett Brothers, and then next month is Ryan Adams and the Cardinals, Ingrid Michaelson, and Okkervil River. How did we get so lucky?!

