Well, the One Month Countdown officially started last Friday (while I was down at the beach, no less). I’m not worried…really, I’m not. I do realize that I have a shitload of work ahead of me, and that causes at least some unease. To recap:

Question 1, Part 1: DONE

Question 1, Part 2: Not done (more on that later)

Question 2: DONE

Question 3: Have sources, but haven’t written anything besides an outline. Need to re-read a few things before I start.

So, I was going to write the second half of the first question on epistemology in educational psychology, but the more I wrote, and the more I read, I realized that I was being pulled in another direction and couldn’t do a damn thing about it. So, I’ve switched over to schema theory, and I had to read some more stuff, check out a couple of books, and start all over on that section. I wasn’t too happy about it, but ultimately I’ll benefit.

In the meantime, we had a trip to the beach scheduled. We left Thursday morning and called our friends about 2 hours into the trip to find out when they planned on arriving and all my friend could say was, “Oh. My. God. The reservation is for tomorrow.” Sure enough, their e-mail to us said “18th-21st” but somehow I/we managed to mix it up. In the end, we just stayed an extra night and I’m glad we did, even if I wasn’t productive. I got maybe half a page written, but I did some quality reading, so it wasn’t a total wash. Still, I can’t believe I screwed the pooch on that one. This is my brain on comps.

My final project for my Eval class is also due very soon (next Wednesday, the 30th) and so this weekend will be spent writing that up. I don’t anticipate it taking more than a couple of hours, and I hope I’m right about that.

I’m currently trying to read something for fun to break up the monotony of working, since I’ve been working on comps in my office (I’m expected to be there, so why not?) and sometimes it just gets to you. A friend in Chicago recommended On The Beach by Nevil Shute, and so far it’s pretty amazing. The basic premise of the book is that a nuclear bomb detonated in the Northern Hemisphere, and slowly the radiation cloud is making its way southward, killing all life as it moves. The people in the book all live somewhere in South Australia and they’re just biding their time and living their day-to-day lives whilst waiting to be annihilated about a year from where the book picks up. It sounds depressing, but it’s a good read. Maybe it comes from growing up during the tail end of the Cold War, but I love a good post-apocalyptic novel. (Also recommended: Cormac McCarthy’s The Road.)

Blog postings may be sporadic, if at all, during these next few weeks. Whenever I finish (God willin’ and the crick don’t rise), I’ll post a recap of my experiences and some advice for people who hope to take comp exams in the future. I realize fields differ tremendously, so YMMV.

