I’ve started running again. Sometime back in March I joined a women’s running group at Southern Sole that’s open to all ability levels (and even guys can join) and they have 3, 4, and 5-mile routes. You have people who are marathon runners all the way down to people who basically walk the whole distance. Even though I’m not nearly one of the fastest people in the group, it’s a great way to hold myself accountable when I know that people will wonder where I am if I don’t show up. Most of the time I only do 3 miles, although a couple of weeks ago (pre-accident) I did 4 miles. My first run post accident was this week and I only did about 2 miles. Now that I don’t have class on Wednesdays, I can commit to running as much as 3 times a week, 3-4 miles per time.

Some days, I have a buddy to run/walk with, but most of the time I end up doing it on my own because I’m doing a shorter route, and other people are training for races and want to do the 5 mile route. I really feel OK by myself, listening to the noises around me. I want to get one of those iPod armband things, but I may have to wait, since I have a number of things already laying claim to my money this month (motorcycle license plate, Mother’s Day, friend’s bridal shower, etc.).

Running has been a great way for me to discover my own physical abilities (and limitations). I was always afraid to push myself, but now I think nothing of running a mile or two and barely exhausting myself. Hopefully this summer will be kinder than last summer, and I may very well be up to 5 miles (or more) by my birthday. Once Robin (my friend that had a baby recently) gets back from staying with her parents, we can start running together again.

