Well, on Saturday, I came close to breaking my ass. Picture the scene: I’m driving, Scott’s riding 2-up (our first mistake). We are going to the record store (Oz, for you Tuscaloosians) to support “Record Store Day.” I go to hang a left onto Stillman Blvd, but before we turned left, I told Scott I didn’t feel comfortable driving, so he said to pull off in the parking lot ahead after I turned. Well, we didn’t quite make it. I hung the left turn, but got wobbly, and when I tried to make it into the parking lot, we wiped out on some gravel, sand, and glass. The Piaggio landed on me and smashed up my left leg. I had tried to brace myself with my arms and got the skin torn off my right wrist.

I hate to admit it, but I started crying. I was upset because I was in a hell of a lot of pain, I was upset because my bike got tore up, and really upset that like 20 people saw us go down. A few people were kind enough to come over and check on us. It was embarrassing, but it’s nice to know people care. We assessed the damage, tried to start it back up (I had the presence of mind to hit the kill switch before I got up), and drove it back home, with me on the back snivelling because the wind on my open wounds was killer.

We went to the ER to get my foot checked out (because I couldn’t move my toes or flex my ankle), and there were no breaks. I have a large bruise on my left thigh, a really bruised up left knee, my left foot is bruised up and had the skin taken off of it, and my right wrist lost a good bit of skin, too. I’m sore, but some 800 mg ibuprofen and some Vicodin (at bedtime only) seems to help it out.

I took it out on some errands yesterday, and Scott and I went for two rides (one to Publix and one joyride around campus about 9 last night). I’ll be taking it in to work here in a little bit, and I’m hoping it all works out OK. It was a scary experience, but not as bad as it could have been. You live and you learn.

