Y’know, like me!

I kid, I kid.

But really, it’s the small things in life that keep you going. Sure, there’s the big picture, but from a motivational standpoint, the big picture itself isn’t a very good motivator. It doesn’t constantly prod you and reward you. That’s where the small things come in. You don’t work for those, but they’re what keep you going, or at least in my case.

So, the small things that have cranked my tractor this week:

  • I finally have a few responses trickling in for my study. I’d be lying if I told you I wasn’t checking SurveyMonkey every couple of hours…err, every hour…to see if there are any new responses. On Friday, I got to make my pitch to two different sections of the same class, and I get to do it one more time tomorrow morning. If I can get around 100-150 responses by the end of the semester, I will be ecstatic!
  • On Sunday morning, the spouse and I decided to make the outside of our house look decent. This entailed cutting the grass, trimming the hedges, and cleaning out our shed/workshop in the back yard. So cleansing!
  • In spite of last week’s mid-week meltdown (which I will probably feel like talking about later, but not now), I was able to calm my fears, construct a workable plan, and think positively about my future. Sometimes you get buried too deeply in the BIG picture that you can’t reach the little things. I could have let myself wallow in self-pity and ambiguity for far longer, but I picked myself up (with some help) and kept on truckin’.

They say the Devil is in the details, but I think “they” are wrong.

