This morning I received an e-mail from my department saying that from now on, they will be demanding yearly progress evals from all grad students. This in and of itself didn’t bother me. What bothered me is that they’re just now getting around to requesting this and they want it in basically 3 weeks. Great. As if there isn’t enough going on this time of the semester…

In a similar fashion, we received an e-mail this week saying that applications for departmental assistantship applications are due by April 21. On the application, it says they’re due April 1st, and I’ve heard talk that some people don’t turn in applications until mid-summer (for fall!), so they’re trying to fix this. I do see some progress here and there in the way of deadlines and paperwork, and that’s definitely good. Things in the department are slowly but surely shaping up, after a few years of disorganization and (at times) chaos.

