I’ve been reading a chapter in one of my texts for today’s class, and I keep running across a particular phrase that I absolutely detest: “in other words.”

Here’s an example (emphasis mine):

Mischel suggests that one way to capture the complexity of dynamic interactions is to view dispositional constructs as conditional if-then propositions that specify the relationship between certain kinds of situations, contexts, or eliciting conditions (“if”) and corresponding tendencies toward certain kinds of behavior (“then”). In other words, dispositions are concepts that link two kinds of categories: categories of actions or behaviors and categories of situations or contexts that are correlated with the behaviors in question.

It is my entirely subjective opinion that rather than blather on and then say “in other words,” one should just go ahead and say it in a clear and concise way.

