When everyone else in your department is gone to a conference, you contract a hardcore case of Loseritis. Symptoms include:

  • Aimless surfing of the Interwebz
  • Lack of motivation to do anything. At all.
  • A tendency to kick yourself for not submitting at least a theoretical paper
  • Obsession with “what I’ll submit for next year”
  • Overwhelming desire to catch a flight and crash the conference, just to say you went

I have some stats assignments to do, articles to read, and a 20-30 page paper to start. Have I done anything towards any of these? I think we all know the answer.

All this in the same week that I get notification that all systems are go for being an “official” Ph.D. student. The plan for me, given that I did not finish my M.M. (not that it matters, since it was entirely irrelevant to my current program, anyways) was to be an M.A. student “on paper,” but take Ph.D. coursework. When I finished my coursework and (hopefully) pass comps, I’d “earn” my M.A. and then be admitted as a Ph.D. student, though I had to submit another admission application for the Ph.D. program. For the past 3 years I’ve been listed as an M.A. student, and I always hesitated to tell people I was pursuing a Ph.D., even when I was certainly doing the work. Now that this is out of the way, I feel ever so slightly better about myself. Now I just need to take and pass my comps this summer.

