I am, in some ways, a damn dirty hippie, at least compared to my fellow Alabamians. I use re-usable bags at the grocery store, I buy only CFL bulbs for the house, I avoid (when possible) cleaning products that contain bleach, phosphates, and other harmful chemicals. I buy cruelty-free grooming products, though that’s pretty hard around here. I recycle a good bit of our household waste, especially glass. I rarely if ever buy new clothes, and I almost never go shopping. If something breaks, I fix it, rather than just throw it away and buy a new one. I avoid meat and only buy animal products (dairy and eggs)  that come from animals who are treated humanely. That said, there’s always more I can do, and my only excuse is laziness. With a lot of the changes I’ve made in my lifestyle over the past few years, at first they were difficult to remember or seemed kind of work-intensive, but as I adjusted, they became second nature.

So, I recently stumbled upon a website called Big Green Purse. The premise of it is that harnessing women’s buying power (since more often than not, women are responsible for the household shopping) is an important step towards encouraging companies to adopt greener policies, since money talks and all that jazz. If you’re in to that kind of thing, sign up and pledge to replace $1,000 of what you’d already be spending anyways on products that are better for the environment.

If you’re not into that sort of thing, forward it on to someone you know who is.

