This past weekend I went to my great-grandmother’s house to visit her, my grandmother, and my other relatives that live up there. As I was driving there it dawned on me that I hadn’t been up there since last April, which makes about 10 months. I think that’s the longest I’ve ever gone without visiting them, and I felt so, so bad about it. My great-grandmother told me that she thought that she would never see me again, and I felt so sad (and somewhat guilty). I mean, I can travel halfway across the world to Spain, but I can’t drive 2 hours to go visit her once in a while? I’m going to do my best to be sure and visit her more, since as my Nana said, she may not be around too much longer. She’s 95 and in pretty good health, but at her age you never know what might happen. I’m really glad I went to visit.

In other news, my iPod screen somehow got cracked, and so I need to ship it off to get it fixed. Boooo. I was not happy about it, but the $30-40 it costs to fix it beats paying $300 for a new one (although a new iPod would be kind of cool, I’m not into spending money I don’t have). I already put two of my textbooks for this semester on my MasterCard, which I hate, but most financial advisors suggest that if you just have to use your card, use it for a concrete necessity (i.e., textbooks or medical supplies), not frivolous/impulse purchases (dinner out or clothes you don’t need). Maybe I’m just trying to justify it, but I likely won’t forget to pay them off since I’ll be burying my nose in them for the rest of the semester (and the rest of my career).

Speaking of careers, I have been sort of scoping out the job market, since I’ll be going on it next summer/fall and would like to know what to expect. Even in the sad state of our economy, there seems to be a number of good opportunities for me, and not all of them in academia. While I’d prefer a tenure-track professorial job, I’m also open to getting into the corporate or government sectors, if the job and location are good for me. There’s the added pressure of making sure Scott can find something to do, although with a law degree from a top 15 school and 12 years of experience, I’m sure it won’t be too difficult. I saw a few psychology post-doc opportunities in the Bay Area that look promising, a few marketing type jobs, and some decent looking academic jobs in psychology and education. The few salaries I saw posted were encouraging. I think I need to work past my fears and insecurities, finish my doctorate, and get the hell out of here.

