I didn’t have the best week.

I had to leave early on Monday for a dr. appt. and I didn’t feel too guilty, given that I haven’t had a gaadamn thing to do since I started this job on August 17.

Apparently some heffa was calling up to the lab starting at around 1:30 and then an hour later went to my supervisor’s office to say that there was no one in the lab. Great. I had a sign up on the door, but I guess she neglected to read it. I got an e-mail from my boss saying that I should make sure the lab is covered when I say I’ll be there, etc. I told her the circumstances and she wasn’t mad at me. Phew.

So heffa comes back on Tuesday and wants help learning how to use NVIVO (a qual research software program). Problem is, we don’t have NVIVO in our lab (yet) and I have never used it, so I couldn’t help. She was irritated, but I found some people to help her. Turns out, she has like no fucking data (5 interviews that are no more than 15 pages triple spaced does not equal sufficient data for a dissertation), no theoretical framework, and she has to have her stuff into her dissertation committee by Oct. 1st. For crying out loud, she was just that same day getting in her last interview transcripts! WTF?! According to one of the people who helped her, she basically wanted someone else to do her work for her. Uh-huh. I can help you all day long, but I’m sure as shit not doing your work FOR you. I shudder to think that she may actually earn a Ph.D. No wonder so many people don’t respect qual research…most people who do it have no idea wtf they’re doing. Sigh.

OK, so I’ve had a long string of gyno-related problems. Recently, my birth control pills were making me so ill. Migraines, mood swings, libido issues, skin problems, etc. I wanted to go off of hormonal birth control completely and chart my cycles. I went to the gynecologist on Monday to talk to him about getting off the pill and getting some resources on charting. Unfortunately, it isn’t an option for me because of my endometriosis. Until right before we want to have a kid, I have to be on some sort of hormonal intervention to keep everything under control. I’ve basically run out of options, and the only two I’m left w/ are an IUD (Mirena) and an implant (Implanon). OK. So, both of these involve a certain amount of pain at insertion, and while I’m hardly  chicken, I am so tired of having to do things that hurt. I did a ton of research and decided to go w/ an IUD. I think this will be good for me. Next Thursday, Scott will take me to Birmingham to get it put in. I’m kind of nervous, but I’m going to get a mild sedative to take beforehand and ask for a cervical anesthetic to make it as pleasant as I possibly can.

I’m just kind of sad because I feel like I don’t have a lot of control over my body. Having hormones constantly running through your system will make you completely whack, or at least it made me feel like that. One way to fix this problem for good is for me to get pregnant and have a kid. We could theoretically wing it, but we just don’t want to do that right now. It’s healthier to have time together for at least a few years before changing your life like that. The same day I get all this put on me, my mom calls me to tell me my cousin (who’s 25, not married, and lives w/ her parents) got knocked up by this guy she just started seeing. Right. It doesn’t make any sense, but I’m kind of bitter.

